Monday, March 31, 2008

Tangiers for a day















Dragged the poor kids up at 7 am for a drive to Tarifa for the ferry to Tangiers. We had a very talkative guide - ok - possibly at bit TOO talkative. I´m saying NONSTOP for about 5 hours. We visited an amazing cave and wandered the Medina market. The best part was a stop at a homeopathic/spice/perfume place. It was just really neat and the guy was fun. We had a lunch we didn´t much enjoy (hopefully I´ll add the pics here, and met another nice guy at a t-shirt knickknack place. Shea got great shoes. Maddie and Shea rode camels. I´m not sure if the pics turned out - it was Maddie´s camera and some setting had bumped and I was looking into the sun.....lots of video though.

It´s pretty late. And we´re awfully tired but we´re all on the internet trying to catch up.

Miss you all terribly. Really. Now I´ll see if I can get some pics on here. OK A lot of the really good pictures need to be rotated and I can´t figure it out on this computer. Sorry - you´re all invited to a later, better slide show. i also don´t know how to do captions so - guy with the girls was really nice - liked him a lot, Allan is sniffing some kind of potion at the perfume shop, beach where the Atlantic meets the Mediterranean - actually was pretty cold today to the beach shot is accompanied by a heavy sigh....Shea didn´t like the food - mentioned earlier, wasn´t so great for the rest of us either - ferry both ways - quite nice - i didn´t get sick - bonus, and just a street shot that the kids hate. So....there you have it!

5 comments:

Bree Z and Kos O said...

whooeee had a full day it seems! Hannah and Nathan are over again... we're watching No Country for Old Men. I'm exhausted because Mika has been running around all day. Gotta wrangle that little girl! Hope you guys have a good night/day whatever time it is there.

Love Bree

SRWT-Producer said...

Thanks Bree. We're certainly not envying your Mika experience. Sounds like you're doing an awesome job. Really glad your having friends over. Miss you....don't really miss Mika - especially in the mornings.

denise. said...

wowie, that sounds like quite an exciting adventure day for you guys. the pictures make me...EXTREMELY jealous.

my favorite is the one of the hanging chickens...not that i like hanging chickens, but you can tell how fast the guy in the back is moving from the blur! (camera geek).

missing you all tons, can't wait for you to come home and tell us all kinds of great stories!

p.s laura, hope you ended up getting some good chow somewhere, if not, theres always tomorrow (or, today rather).

alright, time to work, bye bye bye!!!!

Unky Duck said...

mmmm chicken.

Pablo said...

The chicken picture remind me the way I use to see the market in Buenos Aires 20 years ago. It was pretty normal and nobody died because of it. Don't worry.

Polin told me that in is exactly the same today in Puerto Escondido. Also with meat.

I had surgery yesterday to extract a couple of teeth with sedation, so, I'm staying at home with medication. I will not show my smile for a bit.

Hope you find a better place to have lunch/dinner. :)

Pablo